534- Logo Quiz

QRCode_LogoQuiz
Logo Quiz QR Code (Scan to download the app!)

Creating assessments online are a great way to increase student interest. There are many different services to do so. SurveyMonkey, Google Forms, or OnlineQuizCreator are just a few of the hosts teachers can use in the classroom. An example for a fun and interactive lesson is creating a Jeopardy game using PowerPoint. It can also allow for an on-the-spot authentic and captivating formative or summative assessment of students’ progress.

But today I would like to introduce and discuss a quiz I made myself using MIT’s clever coding-with-blocks cloud based software called App Inventor 2 (AI2). The quiz I created is based on the President’s Quiz tutorial chapter.

Since next week we will be starting our new media and persuasion unit of inquiry, I decided to digitalize our pre-assessment, which was a simple paper-and-pencil logo quiz. The quiz I created includes ten (10) different logos, and has three different screens. Since my students are only 10 years old, I decided to help them out by providing them with three different options as answers. In order to get around the capitalization sensitivity of AI2 I made sure to capitalize all the answers so that they are not marked as incorrect. I also added Simpsons-related sound effects (Krusty the Clown and Homer Simpson’s words of wisdom…) to increase interest. After searching for quite a while, I found that SoundBoard offers the best free sound effects (with registration; but no unnecessary or spam e-mails)

It is unfortunate that AI2 still does not offer what seem to be obvious developer tricks, such as copying blocks from screen to screen, or copying entire screens within apps. I hope that as the popularity of AI2 in K-12 schools and in higher education institutions, our friends at MIT would add more options and capabilities to App Inventor 2.

Until that happens, here are some screenshots of my Logo Quiz:

Quiz_WelcomeScreenQuiz_QuestionQuizQuiz_ExpertScreenQuiz_EndScreen

I had my students test the quiz and am happy to report that it was a great success, even beyond my intended outcomes. They not only improved their knowledge of famous logos, but they also engaged in discussions about their experiences and about different design features, such as colors, shapes, and images.

High five for a successful integration of technology!

